Skip to main content

Moreno Elementary School

ART Butterfield
Art Project
Student Art work
Staff picture
Big Shade Tree
Student artwork
Student artwork on wall
Student picture on wall part of artwork

Moreno Valley Unified School District welcomes new board member


Moreno Valley Unified School District welcomes new board member

MORENO VALLEY, Calif. – At the April 12, 2022 Moreno Valley Unified School District Board Meeting, Ruth Self-Williams was sworn in by her granddaughter as a new board member for the Moreno Valley Unified School District Board of Education. 

“I want to thank everyone for this wonderful opportunity,” said newly elected board member Ruth Self-Williams. “When we went into distance learning on March 13, 2022, I made a decision that I wanted to be in a place where I could help develop policy…. I am here to make a difference…. We are putting your children first.”

Self-Williams is a retired educator with 38 years of experience, who served as an elementary and middle school teacher, reading specialist, assistant principal, elementary and middle school principal and county office administrator. She has been a member of the Moreno Valley community for 32 years and is the mother of three children and two grandchildren.

“We are so happy you are part of our…team,” said School Board President Cleveland Johnson. “Thank you for deciding to serve on the Moreno Valley Unified School District Board of Education.”

Since her retirement, she has mentored and coached administrators through the Riverside County Office of Education and supervised student teachers and interns through the University of Massachusetts Global, formally known as Brandman University. 

“We are excited that Ms. Ruth Self-Williams is serving as a member of our board of education,” said Superintendent Dr. Martinrex Kedziora later that night. “She is focused on ensuring our students have a positive experience at our schools. We look forward to continuing to Shine Brighter with Excellence on Purpose!”

Self-Williams' current term ends on December 13, 2024 and she is the board member for Trustee Area 5.